EDWARDS-KNOX CENTRAL SCHOOL

MEETING: Annual District Meeting DATE: May 10 & 17, 2016

Board of Education Vice President and Permanent Chairperson of the annual meeting, Reggie LaPoint called the meeting to order and introduced the Board of Education members on May 10, 2016 at 6:30 p.m. in the Cafeteria.

The following board members were present: Lynn Coller, Stacia Kroniser, Reggie LaPoint, Tom O'Brien, Joseph Thomas and Tom Whitmarsh. Also present were: George Merritt, Rebecca Phillips, Amy Sykes, Lura Hughes, Brandi Graham, community members, staff members and prospective board members: Michael White, Penny Allen, Robert "Robin" Tresidder and Jennifer Hotaling.

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The notice of the annual district meeting was available for examination by all those in attendance.

Chairperson LaPoint announced that the following individuals will serve as certified election inspectors as required by the Board of Elections: Marjorie Davis of Edwards, Dawn Mullaney of Edwards and Doris Smith of Russell.

Chairman LaPoint then announced the Board of Education Candidates:

CHRISTOPHER AVERILL SEAT Michael White

JOSEPH THOMAS SEAT Jennifer Hotaling Derek LaPoint

RANDY VANBROCKLIN SEAT Robert Tresidder Penny Allen

Mr. LaPoint then asked Mr. George Merritt, in conjunction with Rebecca Phillips to present the proposed 2016-2017 school district budget. Mr. Merritt discussed the projected expenditures and revenues for the 2016-2017 school year, along with the bus proposition and the board of education proposition to be voted on.

Vice President Reggie LaPoint then called for the transaction of any other business as authorized by Education Law.

President Randy VanBrocklin entered the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

A motion was made by Lynn Coller, seconded by Randy VanBrocklin to appoint Thomas Whitmarsh as the Pro-tem Chairperson to open the voting polls on Tuesday, May 17, 2016.

Averill - Absent	Brewer - Absent	Coller - Yes	Kroniser - Yes
LaPoint - Yes	O'Brien - Yes	Thomas - Yes	VanBrocklin - Yes
Whitmarsh - Absta	Motion Carried		

A motion for adjournment of this meeting to reconvene at I2:00 noon on May 17, 2016 for the purpose of voting on the proposed budget and resolutions for the school year 2016-2017 was called for by Vice President LaPoint.

A motion was made by Thomas Whitmarsh to adjourn this meeting to reconvene at I2:00 noon on May 17, 2016 for the purpose of voting on the proposed budget and propositions for the school year 2016-2017. Lynn Coller seconded this motion at 7:05 p.m.

Averi	ll - Absent	Brewer - Absent	Coller - Yes	Kroniser - yes		
LaPo	int - Yes	O'Brien - Yes	Thomas - Yes	VanBrocklin - Yes		
Whitmarsh - Yes			Motion Carried			
At the annual district election of the qualified voters of Edwards-Knox Central School District, St.						
Lawrence County, New York, held in the Main Gymnasium of the Edwards-Knox Central School on						
the 17 th day of May, 2016 at I2:00 Noon Prevailing Time:						

Pro-tem Chairperson Thomas Whitmarsh called the meeting to order at 12:00 o'clock Noon, Prevailing Time, and announced that the purpose of the meeting was to vote upon the appropriation of the necessary funds to meet the estimated expenditures of the Edwards-Knox Central School District, the election of three members of the Board of Education, and a proposition for bus purchases, as contained in the Notice of Annual District Meeting.

The Inspectors of Election then reported that prior to the opening of the polls, each ballot to be used at the meeting had been examined, as well as the voting machine being examined, and that each ballot was in all respects, in proper condition for use, along with the voting machine.

At I2:00 o'clock, Noon, Prevailing Time, Pro-tem Chairperson Whitmarsh announced the voting would proceed. The polls were declared open and Pro-tem Chairperson Whitmarsh declared that all duly qualified voters desiring to vote at any time until 8:00 o'clock P.M., Prevailing Time were entitled to cast their vote. Sample ballot is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

At 8:00 o'clock P.M., Pro-tem Chairperson Thomas Whitmarsh announced that all voters in the polling place at or before 8:00 o'clock P.M., having been allowed to vote, the polls were declared closed.

Immediately upon the closing of the polls, the Inspectors of Election proceeded to canvass the vote, and made the following reports:

BUDGET

Total number of ballots issued: 222 Votes in favor of proposition: 170 Votes against proposition: 46 Undervotes: 6 Overvotes: 0

BOARD MEMBER ELECTIONS Total number of ballots issued: 222 Votes in favor of proposition: 194 Votes against proposition: 21 Undervotes: 7 Overvotes: 0

CANDIDATES FOR BOARD OF EDUCATION: CHRISTOPHER AVERILL SEAT: Michael White: 158 Write-ins: 18 Undervotes: 46 Overvotes: 0

CANDIDATES FOR BOARD OF EDUCATION: JOSEPH THOMAS SEAT: Jennifer Hotaling: 121 Derek LaPoint: 91 Write-ins: 0 Undervotes: 10 Overvotes: 0

CANDIDATES FOR BOARD OF EDUCATION: RANDY VANBROCKLIN SEAT: Robert Tresidder: 62 Penny Allen: 150 Write-ins: 0 Undervotes: 10 Overvotes: 0

Pro-tem Chairperson Thomas Whitmarsh then called for a resolution to accept the results fo the canvass of the election:

<u>RESOLUTION</u>: A motion was made by district resident Norma Jean LaPoint, seconded by Jocelyn Merritt, that the proceedings fo the meeting and the result and canvass of the election be approved. All 4 district residents present voted, 4 in favor of accepting, 0 opposed the result and canvass of the election.

BUS PURCHASES PROPOSITION

Total number of ballots issued: 222 Votes in favor of proposition: 177 Votes against proposition: 39 Undervotes: 6 Overvotes: 0 At 8:58 o'clock P.M., Prevailing Time, the Pro-tem Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brandi Graham Board Clerk